Skip to main content

AFSCME Family Scholarship

As a member of the Kansas Organization of Employees (KOSE), you have access to this great scholarship from AFSCME, one of our parent unions!  This is a great opportunity for all our members who are looking for help sending their kids to college.  KOSE is AFSCME Local #300.

Knowledge Is Power

Looking for financial support for college?  Each year the AFSCME Family Scholarship Program provides ten $2,000 scholarships to graduating high school seniors that will be renewed for $2,000 each year for a maximum of four years, provided the student remains enrolled in a full-time course of study. The scholarship may be used for any field of study.

Are You Eligible?

To be eligible, you must:

  • At the time of application, be a graduating high school senior whose parent, legal guardian or financially responsible grandparent is a full dues-paying AFSCME member;
  • At the time the scholarship is awarded, be enrolled in a full-time degree program either at an accredited four-year institution or at a two-year institution that will transfer credits to a four-year institution; and
  • Have taken the SAT or the ACT.
  • Return complete application with all required documentation postmarked by December 31, 2018 deadline.

How to Apply

      Complete the application here:

To apply, you must meet all eligibility requirements as identified above. Make sure your complete application, with all support documentation (essay, transcripts, official copies of your SAT or ACT scores, letters of recommendation, proof of AFSCME membership, etc.), is mailed together in one envelope, POSTMARKED NO LATER THAN DECEMBER 31, 2018, to:

AFSCME Family Scholarship Program
Attention: AFSCME Advantage
1625 L Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20036

If you have any questions, please call us at (202) 429-5080.

2018 AFSCME Family Scholarship Winners


  • Alexis Basel, Wisconsin, Council 32, L 2748
  • Matthew Brahms, New Jersey, 963, L 2307
  • Britnee Caires-Akau, Hawaii, HGEA 152 
  • Reaghan Case, Missouri, Council 61, L 3503
  • Aubrietta McCrone, Washington, Council 2, L 21
  • Lina Montes, New York, CSEA 1000, L 860
  • Anthony Ruhulessin, Illinois, Council 31, L 3477
  • Kortney Stortz, California, Council 57, L 2700
  • Smaran Teru, Pennsylvania, Council 89, L 1981
  • Brett Zonick, Oregon, Council 75, L 3580

Share This